Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?



The Pretty Reckless
Submitted by Johan Wippsson on 2010-06-22
The Pretty Reckless Release EP And Reveal Album Details

The debut EP from The Pretty Reckless is available now.  It features their single “Make Me Wanna Die," two new digital tracks and bonus song "Zombie" available only on the physical version sold at Warped Tour and Hot Topic stores. 
With these four songs, Taylor Momsen and her band give fans a preview of what’s to come on their forthcoming full-length album, Light Me Up -- an unflinchingly honest chronicle of Momsen’s experiences, filtered through her unique point of view.  The songs, all written by Momsen and Ben Phillips with their producer Kato Khandwala, run the gamut of emotions, alternating at times between seething rage and a bruised vulnerability.
The songs tackle everything from romantic insecurity (the full-throttle rager “Make Me Wanna Die,” which also appears on the soundtrack to the film Kick-Ass), to despair (“You”), to how working non-stop can you make you feel like one of the un-dead (“Zombie”). Momsen pushes back against the haters on “Light Me Up” and asks how far you have to go to get forgiveness on “Going Down.” With her growly, world-weary alto, Momsen can do it all: garage-rock rave-ups (“Miss Nothing”), punchy blues-rock stompers (“My Medicine,” “Since You’re Gone”), as well as emotional power ballads (“Just Tonight”) and lovely acoustic guitar and string-driven numbers (“You”).
Visit for more info and stay tuned for the full-length release coming later this year.  The band is about to head out on Warped Tour, and they are giving fans the chance to design their tour poster on Buzznet.


Melodic Net Comments