Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?



Nothing but Thieves
Submitted by Johan Wippsson on 2015-09-27
Nothing but Thieves Announces Self-Titled Debut Out Oct 16 Via Sony Music

London's finest, Nothing But Thieves announces the release of their self-titled debut album on October 16 via Sony Music, featuring singles "Trip Switch" and "Wake Up Call". The album will be available in both standard version and deluxe (with four bonus tracks) and a September 11 pre-order includes a free download of "Trip Switch". 

"Trip Switch" has racked up almost 400,000 views on Vevo and has been added into rotation at SiriusXM's Alt Nation. The most recent single, "Wake Up Call", was unveiled early this morning at Rock Sound

Drawing inspiration from the bombast of Muse, the playfulness of Kasabian and the unpredictability of Arcade Fire, the songs on Nothing But Thieves re-imagine the majesty of rock and roll, simultaneously kicking and comforting the listener. It's a worthwhile adventure. 

The band will perform at both Reading & Leeds festivals this weekend, following a recent support slot with Muse and tours with Twin Atlantic, AWOL Nation and Darlia. In response to their set at Lowlands Festival last weekend, All Things Loud declared, "Nothing But Thieves will undoubtedly be selling out stadiums in five years' time. Their debut self-titled comes out later this year, yet it's been preceded by a slew of fantastic tracks worthy of festival headline slots." The quintet will hit the States in early 2016. 

"The Southend five-piece runs up debts to Jeff Buckley, Radiohead, Muse, early Coldplay and blue-eyed soul," notes the London Sunday Times. The publication agrees, "The audacity with which they set about these templates is genuinely thrilling, as if they're on their third or fourth album, not prepping for their first. Stadiums surely beckon." The album has seen multiple radio playlist additions across XFM, Kerrang! and Radio 1 in the UK and now the world is starting to take notice, as the upcoming debut has also seen substantial airplay on Triple J Radio in Australia as well as KCRW & KROQ in the U.S. Nothing But Thieves has also landed on 2013 'Best New Artist' lists of iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, MTV and XFM, to name a few. 

It's fair to say Conor Mason (vocals), Joe Langridge-Brown (Guitars), Dom Craik (guitars), Philip Blake (bass) and James Price (drums) form a definitive and unique sound and things have certainly moved up a gear from their early days writing in Craik's Southend garage. At once thunderous yet delicate, raw yet methodical, they evoke the profound dynamics of music's more creative imaginations. 

Dom's electronic "noodling", Conor's "old school" rocking, and Joe's forays into "Riff Central" fused to form "a weird monster," which the band grabbed by the tail and rode as it thrashed. As Joe shaped lyrics from the melodies the songs dictated, the definitive Nothing But Thieves sound began to take shape and together with producer Julian Emery (Lissie) their album was born. 

Recorded between Angelic Studios, Little Drummer Boy and Hits & Arts Studios and mixed by Cenzo Townshend (Maccabees, U2, Florence & The Machine, Thirty Seconds To Mars) and Adam Noble (Placebo, Don Broco, Kids In Glass Houses), Nothing But Thieves will undoubtedly take the band to the next level. They've always had the songs, now they have the platform. 


Nothing But Thieves Track Listing

1 - Excuse Me

2 - Ban All The Music

3 - Wake Up Call

4 - Itch

5 - If I Get High

6 - Graveyard Whistling

7 - Hostage

8 - Trip Switch

9 - Lover, Please Stay

10 - Drawing Pins

11 - Painkiller

12 - Tempt You (Evocation)

13 - Six Billion **BONUS TRACK**

14 - Neon Brother **BONUS TRACK**

15 - Hanging **BONUS TRACK**

16 - Honey Whiskey **BONUS TRACK**


Melodic Net Comments