Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?



Chain Wallet
Submitted by Johan Wippsson on 2016-10-07
Norwegian Dream-Pop Band CHAIN WALLET Release Debut Album Today!

Oslo, Norway-based label Jansen Plateproduksjon and Norwegian dream-pop band Chain Wallet are proud to announce the release of the band’s self-titled debut album. Out today, Chain Wallet (LP/CD, iTunes/Apple Music) explores themes of betrayal, idleness and crushed dreams against the backdrop of an existential breakdown. The album is loosely based in the same universe and portrays different aspects of the quarter-life crisis, ensuring that the album hits on a visceral, teenage level amongst the shimmer and haze of the lo-fi soundscape that they conjure. Stream the album in its entirely via Culture Collide HERE.  

You can’t deny that there is something sorrowful behind the lo-fi dream/psych pop trio Chain Wallet, and you can’t hide that their music suits the environment wherein it was created. It may be a cliché that it always rains in the band’s hometown, but when you play Chain Wallet’s self-titled debut album, it’s not too difficult to imagine the mist hanging heavily over their indie dystopian vision of Bergen, Norway. 

Even though feelings of nostalgia and melancholy lurk in the Scandinavian shadows, it’s not difficult to find indie-pop gold in its purest form, glittering below the heavy layers of synth and reverb. Tracks like ‘Shade’ and ‘Abroad’ have an up-tempo urgency to them which calls to mind bands like Motorama, whereas other dreamy psych ballads like ‘Muted Colours’ and ‘Stuck In The Fall’ occupy a rich and hazy middle ground between DIIV and Wild Nothing.

Frode Boris from the band explains the band’s ethos and sound: “We want to capture the acute distress of an afflicted character; his self-indulgent pity, gradual loss of touch with reality and his forlorn attempts on returning to normal life. The abrupt disintegration unveils interesting tensions between urgency and inertia. The album is about fragmented memories, unfulfilled ambitions and the quiet whisper of a stranger.”

Here, the band show their absolute strength, which isn’t just writing songs that unavoidably stick in your mind but also erase the divide between sorrow and happiness. You will be left with a feeling of both reflection and pensiveness, while at the same time being quietly elated. That’s the impact good music should have.

Chain Wallet track listing:

01. Abroad

02. Muted Colours

03. Pale Memories

04. Shade

05. Driving

06. Faded Fight

07. Change Of Heart

08. Remnants Of A Night

09. Stuck In The Fall

10. Running In Dreams



Melodic Net Comments