Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?



Mike and The Mechanics
Submitted by Johan Wippsson on 2017-02-11
Mike + The Mechanics Announce New Album

A hobby band? A side project? Hardly. In fact, it’s been 32 years and, with the release of Let Me Fly on April 7, eight albums since Mike Rutherford formed Mike + The Mechanics, to complement, rather than replace, Genesis.

“In 1985 we were having the best time in Genesis,” he remembers. “But after 28 years, myself Phil and Tony wanted variety, so we ran our band and our solo careers side by side happily for many years. To be honest, it saved Genesis.  The fact I’m still doing it with the Mechanics just makes me smile.”

Mike Rutherford has much to smile about right now, and Let Me Fly distils everything that’s right about Mike + The Mechanics: the songwriting, the life-affirming uplift and the undercurrent of quirk.

Let Me Fly began to take off as the band toured 2011’s The Road, the first album featuring the current line-up: Rutherford himself (guitar/bass), Luke Juby (keyboards), Gary Wallis (drums), Anthony Drennan (guitar), plus vocalists Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar.

Says Rutherford, “I’ve never had a long-term plan, even with Genesis. I’ll put Let My Fly out and I’ll see where it goes. What happens this year will tell me what to do next. I like that!”

We like it too! And we're confident with this new album that Mike + The Mechanics are certainly continuing their upward journey. Let Me Fly is now available for pre-order, with the first single coming February 28. In support of the release, the band will be touring Europe throughout February and March, and will take to the stage at BST Hyde Park with Phil Collins and Blondie on June 30. Click here for tour dates and ticket links. 




  p.p1 {margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px; text-align: center; font: 13px Arial; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} p.p2 {margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px; text-align: center; font: 13px Arial; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000; min-height: 15px} span.s1 {text-decoration: underline ; font-kerning: none} span.s2 {font-kerning: none}

Official Tracklist

01. Let Me Fly

02. Are You Ready

03. Wonder

04. The Best Is Yet To Come

05. Save The World

06. High Life

07. Don’t Know What Came Over Me **

08. The Letter

09. Not Out Of Love

10. Love Left Over

11. I’ll Be There For You

12. Save My Soul


**First single coming February 28!


Melodic Net Comments