Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?

: 0
Check updates ››

Jorn - Heavy Rock Radio

Reviewer :
Arie van der Graaf Format: Album
Release date: 2016-06-03 Year: 2016
Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: Hard Rock
Artist discography


After Jorn's first effort in releasing an album with coversongs back in 2007 he kept on coming with more coverversions on albums after that.
On this last album entitles HeavY Rock Radio he takes on songs from Kate Bush (which he should not have done), Queen, The Eagles etc..

Other covers which are on this release are John Farnham's "You're The Voice", Journey's 'Don't Stop Believin'' and Foreigner's 'Rev On The Red Line'.

It is really 'hot' to release an album full of covers these days (Train does Led Zeppelin, and Venice also released an album full of coversongs) but this one to me seems somewhat rushed.
I miss the real emotion in the songs.
I have to be fair though that the vocals are strong.

The stronger songs are Iron Maiden's 'The Final Frontier', Deep Purple's 'Stormbringer' and 'Rainbow in the Dark' from Dio.

For Jorn Lande fans this is a perfect release seeing him take on some classic songs from a different angle again.
For those who really are into the original versions i would say 'stick with that'.

Tracklisting 1. I Know There's Something Going On
2. Running up That Hill
3. Rev on the Red Line
4. You're the Voice
5. Live to Win
6. Don't Stop Believin'
7. Killer Queen
8. Hotel California
9. Rainbow in the Dark
10. The Final Frontier
11. Stormbringer
12. Die Young


Melodic Net Comments 

Did you know that?

Sahaj of RA held the record for longest single note, for a male vocalist, in a song, having held a high B for 24 seconds. He was overtaken by Jan Werner Danielsen of Norway with 28 seconds in his live version of Nella Fantasia. This record breaker can be heard on Ra´s live album, Raw, on the track "Skorn". Sahaj Ticotin overtook the previous record of 20.2 seconds which was held by Morten Harket, the lead singer of a-ha, in the song, "Summer Moved On".

latest reviews

popular reviews 

review comments 

44 ForthAngel - In the end
43 Constantine Maroulis - Constantine
41 ForthAngel - Silver Bullets EP
38 The Perfects - Future automatic
37 Tribal Ink - Surrounded by freaks
34 Pillar - The Reckoning
33 Europe - Secret Society
33 Breaking Benjamin - Phobia
32 Evanescence - The Open Door
27 Karnivool - Sound Awake