Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Steven Tyler - We're All Somebody From Somewhere

Arie van der Graaf Format: Album
Release date: 2016-07-15
Label: Universal Records
Genre: Hard Rock
Producer: T Bone Burnett, Dann Huff, Marti Frederiksen, Jaren Johnston
Artist discography


What the F#@k?
Was the general reaction of the music world when  Steven Tyler stated he was about to record a country album?
And the man stated “Country is the new Rock n Roll”

I disagree on that,  both styles have there own place in music history.
First i was having some doubts about how Steven would pull this of, but knowing his souring emotional  voice i knew it could be a great fit.

So when i I heard the first single, “Love Is Your Name,” I thought this is a great cathy country tune.
And now the album is released i really have to add he pullec it off bigtime.  I am more than pleased with the result.

Hell, let me say this. I am outright impressed with this disc. Tyler really dug deep into the nashville country scene to find some great musicians.
What makes this album work the most is the fact that he’s doing exactly the kind of music here that a lot of Nashville attempts to do on a daily basis. But, with his style, there’s an air of believability that makes it work – and work well.
There is no denyal that his voice really suits this style as well as Aerosmith.

Tyler does well in slowing down and use his emotion and groovy voice in some nice performances on the more traditional songs on this disc.

“My Own Worst Enemy,” co-written with The Warren Brothers, kicks off the disc. It’s is an emotional song filled with regret and pain about the decisions made in life. The perfect ingredients for a country song.

The only song which could have been left out from this album i think is “Hold On (Won't let go)” which has just a very different sound and does not fit in with the others. It sounds moody and dark and has more hardrock vocals in it. Not saying it's a bad song though. It just doesn't fit in.

Then there is“It Ain’t Easy.” Co-written by Tyler (along with Cary Barlowe, Nathan Barlowe, and Hillary Lindsey), with it's typical dramatic lyrics Nashville songs are known for there days. It is a brilliant song.
And off course Steven is Steven so there has to be some swag here and there too..

“We’re All Somebody From Somewhere” and “The Good, The Bad, The Ugly & Me” might be a little bit rock-tinged for sure but at least it's southern rock.
These songs should be able to find a home on airwaves if radio stations give it a fair chance.

I simply love the song Gypsy Girl, such a nice laid back song.

Also he has a blistering go at covering Joplin's “Piece Of My Heart,” with a superb backing band lifting it even further then Steven already does. Breathtaking.

The Loving Mary Band (which contains maybe one of the best female country vocalists today in Rebecca Lynn Howard). Should really be able to benefit from being on board here.

A hint back to Aerosmith is a  1st gear slowed down groovy version of “Janie's got a Gun”.
Not really needed but hey Seven pulls it into a nice semi country song and pleases his Aerosmith fans also this way.

Rounding up this album fits in perfectly in the sound that comes from Nasville these days.
For die hard Aerosmith fans it possibly takes a few spins to get used to the sound.

Tyler really has put in a lot of hard work and dedication in on this album, and it pays off.
Give this disc an honest listen.
I am convinced you’re going to like it.
Just don't start listening to it with Aerosmith in the back of your mind, use your open view on this great release.

Tracklisting 1 My Own Worst Enemy

2 We’re All Somebody From Somewhere

3 Hold On (Won’t Let Go)

4 It Ain’t Easy

5 Love Is Your Name

6 I Make My Own Sunshine

7 Gypsy Girl

8 Somebody New

9 Only Heaven

10 The Good, The Bad, The Ugly & Me

11 Red, White & You

12 Sweet Louisiana

13 What Am I Doin’ Right?

14 Janie’s Got a Gun

15 Piece of My Heart  (feat. The Loving Mary).


Melodic Net Comments