Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Alanis Morissette - Havoc and bright lights

Reviewer :
Johan Wippsson Format: Album
Release date: 2012-08-28 Year: 2012
Label: Collective Sounds
Genre: Modern Rock
Producer: Guy Sigsworth, Joe Chiccarelli
Artist discography


Alanis Morisette is squinting against the sun on the cover of her eighth album, "Havoc and Bright Lights." You can catch a glimpse of a mountain and in the foreground you can see even a few faded flowers. It's a little sweet, but the content feels tired and totally inspired unfortunately. However, it represents pretty good what Canadian singer stands for today as she’s trying to hard try to keep up with today's music climate. A little sad when she once stood for soul, attitude and cool songs as on "Jagged Little Pill" and "Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie" that both are really good album.
After it has gone downhill and this new album is no exception. There are good tracks as first single "Guardian" which is really good and is a classic Alanis hit. "Lens" and "Receive" are also tracks of high class, but unfortunately the record is totally over-produced and completely lacks of any kind of soul. Really hates the digital sound she has put on, which doesn’t suit her at all. No, she really needs to get back to what she once was and deliver organic and "real" music that people can relate to.

Tracklisting 1. guardian
2. woman down
3. 'til you
4. celebrity
5. empathy
6. lens
7. spiral
8. numb
9. havoc
10. win and win
11. receive
12. edge of evolution
13. will you be my girlfriend?
14. magical child
1. i remain (segue 1) - live in berlin
2. woman down - live in berlin
3. you learn - live in berlin
4. guardian - live in berlin
5. hands clean - live in berlin
6. citizen of the planet - live in berlin
7. ironic - live in berlin
8. head over feet - live in berlin
9. you oughta know - live in berlin
10. numb - live in berlin
11. hand in my pocket - live in berlin
12. uninvited - live in berlin
13. versions of violence - live in berlin


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify