Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Supersonic Blues Machine - Californisoul

J├Ârgen Andersen Format: Album
Release date: 2017-10-20
Label: Mascot Label/Provogue
Genre: Blues,  Rock
Artist discography


Supersonic Blues Machine ( Fabrizio Grossi bass, Lance Lopez Guitars, vocals and Kenny Aronoff  Drums) has released a new album called Californisoul and it features an all-star cast including Billy F. Gibbons, Steve Lukather, Eric Gales, Robben Ford and Walter Trout.
Like 2015’s West Of Flushing South Of Frisco, this is a cool album filled with killer guitar riffs and solos and a rock-steady rhythm section. 

According to Grossi, the concept of the new Supersonic Blues Machine album is that Californisoul is “a soundtrack for an imaginary road trip up the California coastline to the heady, halycon days of the early 70s … this is much closer to Woodstock and Watkins Glen than it is to a cut and 
paste A-list vanity session. This is about friendship, the brotherhood of the blues, and bringing the blues up to this moment in time.”

Aronoff totally agrees with Grossi’s explanation. “There are many different sounds on there but we definitely wanted a feel and a vibe like it was 1969,” he says. “It has a California style of a blues-rock, improv, peace and love vibe that was going on in that era. You turn on the radio in those days, you’d get The Beatles, The Stones, The Beach Boys, and everybody else in between and we wanted that feel, that it wasn’t just one thing. One songs sounds a little ‘Santanish’, other songs are much funkier, some are bluesier. There’s a variety and that’s what makes the record so cool.”

And I agree, Californisoul continues the soulful blues rock journey that started on the first record and is taking us on a imaginary 1970’s road trip up the California coast and this feeling really shines through the whole album from the beginning to the end and it’s difficult not finding yourself tapping your foot along to the drums or nodding along to the grooving guitars.

There’s enough variation on offer here, not to mention enough spontaneity in the band’s playing, that it’s more like enjoying a live performance than a studio album and I really like it and I think thats the way blues-rock is meant to be played.

The whole album is great but songs worth checking out in my opinion is the heavy opening track "I Am Done Missing You", the cool  rock’n’roll song "Broken Heart", the funky "Bad Boys", the cool and Hendrix inspired "Elevate", the soulful "Hard Times" (including some amazing guitar solos)
and finally “Cry”, a beautiful and passionately heartfelt ballad.


1. I Am Done Missing You
2. Somebody's Fool (feat. Robben Ford)
3. L.O.V.E.
4. Broken Heart (feat. Billy F. Gibbons)
5. Bad Boys
6. Elevate (feat. Eric Gales)
7. The One
8. Hard Times (feat. Steve Lukather)
9. Cry
10. The Stranger
11. What's Wrong (feat. Walter Trout)
12. Thank You
13. This Is Love


Melodic Net Comments