Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Black Stone Cherry - Family Tree

Added by :
Arie van der Graaf Format: Album
Release date: 2018-04-20 Year: 2018
Label: Mascot Label Group
Genre: Southern Rock,  Hard Rock
Producer: Black Stone Cherry
Artist discography


Family Tree is the sixth album by southern rockers Black Stone Cherry and to my honest opinion this is their best so far.

Their sound is a blend of Lynyrd Skynyrd, Led Zeppelin, ZZ Top and Black Crowes;

Family Tree holds 13 tracks with several great songs with southern spices, which will be embraced by bluesy rock loving listeners.

The opening track "Bad Habit" is released as a single nd is taking you on an upbeat journey with a cathy guitarline.

"Burnin" has this great ZZ Top riff and frontman Chris Robertsen shines with his powerful vocals.

"New Kinda Feelin'" sees the band grooving along with a great bluesy rock rythm.

The mighty "Carry Me On Down The Road" gives me a Black Crowes meets Zeppelin feeling. Love the 70's style composition.

On "My Last Breath" the band shifts down in gear and gives us a great ballad with sleaze guitar. A fantastic song.

Then we get "Southern Fried Friday Night" which is a true party anthem. This song rocks! One of the highlights for sure.

After this we go straight back to groovy soulful bluesrock with "Dancin' in the Rain" which features Warren Haynes. A very catchy combination here. Man listen to the great instrumental part at the end.

Not wanting to spoil everything i decided skipping writing about some other likewise fantastic songs, all catchy and full of hooks.

We got towards the end of this classic album with the titlesong "Family Tree". A great midtempo rocker on which Chris Robertsen delivers yet another highlight with his voice which contains a unique vibrato. Also this longest song on the album shows once again the fantastic talent of the musicians.

Recap: Black  Stone Cherry produced Family Tree themselves and was mixed by Chris Robertson. They did a mighty fine job in doing so. An excellent bluesy grooving southern rock release of the highest standard. I would recommend this one to anyone.


1. Bad Habit
2. Burnin'
3. New Kinda Feelin'
4. Carry Me On Down The Road
5. My Last Breath
6. Southern Fried Friday Night
7. Dancin' In The Rain (feat. Warren Haynes)
8. Ain't Nobody
9. James Brown
10. You Got The Blues
11. I Need A Woman
12. Get Me Over You
13. Family Tree


Melodic Net Comments