Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Borealis - The Offering

Arie van der Graaf Format: Album
Release date: 2018-03-23
Label: AFM Records
Genre: Power Metal,  Progressive metal
Producer: Sean Dowell
Artist discography


Young Canadian melodic metallers BOREALIS are returning with their fourth studio album called “The Offering”.

Borealis has potential with strong melodies, tasteful instrumentations and their very own blend of modern metal riffs, classic powermetal and progressive elements.

“The Offering” describes a story concept resulting from an interest in cults. The album follows the creation, rise and ultimate demise of a cult who practices human, more specifically child sacrifice. In the sroty they believe this method of belief, sacrifice and devotion will bring an end to the suffering of humanity, as well as bring back the innocence of mankind that was lost to greed and industrialism. However, due to their lack of respect to powers greater than themselves, they unwittingly create a deity out of the sacrificed kid, whom ultimately delivers punishment due to their injustice. The men in the cult are too self-consumed with their righteous quest, they’ve completely overlooked the fact that children are the true key to restoring and preserving lost innocence.

Underlined by this story concept the album delivers forceful, sometimes progressive metal riffs which are accompanied by epic melodies and Matt Marinelli’s expressive voice which elegantly guides through the twelve songs.

Highlights are the epic "Sign Of No Return", the thundering titlesong "The Offering", the moody and melodic slower "The Devil's Hand" which shifts to a fantastic powrerful closing part, the anthem "Scarlet Angel" and the closing "The Ghost Of Innocence" which holds everything this band stands for.

The only pitty on this release is the fact that the intro on "Into The Light" is almost exactly the same as the one on its follower "Scarlet Angel". This is sloppy to my opinion.

The atmosphere BOREALIS delivers will appeal fans of bands like Evergrey, Kamelot or Edguy.

“The Offering” was produced and mixed by the bands Drummer Sean Dowell.


01 The Fire Between Us
02 Sign Of No Return
03 The Offering
04 River
05 The Second Son
06 The Devil’s Hand
07 Into The Light
08 Scarlet Angel
09 The Awakening
10 The Path
11 Forever Lost
12 The Ghosts Of Innocence


Melodic Net Comments