Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Ramos - Living In the Light

Juha Harjula Format: Album
Release date: 2005-11-01
Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: AOR
Producer: Kelly Hanses
Artist discography


Josh Ramos had recorded two fantastic AOR-albums with The Storm in the past. He was also involved
in the Two Fires albums that in my opinion was two average albums. Then he joined Hardline and did the "II" album
that was OK but nothing more.
So now he?s back with his own band Ramos and this is a step forward from the Two Fires albums.
"Living In The Night" is standard Journey-esque AOR with touch of melodic rock but this is better than Two Fires
but don?t reach the same level as The Storm.

One thing that gives this album a more unique sound is the singer Mark Weitz(Eyes). Like many other Journey sounding
acts they have a Steve Perry sounding vocalist but Mark has not that and gives this album a good sound.
It?s great to have Mark Weitz back on track because he has a strong and powerful voice with great feeling.
Opening and title track "Living In The Night" opens the album is a Journey "Arrival" way.
Josh delivers nice Neal Schon
sounding guitarriffs and the chorus is very good. One of the strongest songs of the album.
"The Dream Is Alive" is a great Journey sounding ballad. "Come Back To Me" starts off with Survivor keyboards back turns
out to a Journey rocker with a average chorus.
"Love Is The Magic" is another strong ballad. This song reminds of Steelhouse Lane and Mark sounding similar to Keith Slack.
This is a good album but this is nothing new under the sun and we have heard this many times before. But this is done
much better than many albums out there. So if you?re into the standard AOR stuff then you can check out this nice effort from
Mr. Ramos and co that stands somewhere between Two Fires and The Storm.
It has been produced by Kelly Hansen(Hurricane) with an OK result.

Tracklisting 1. Living In the Light
2. Don't Go
3. Winds of Change
4. Seize the Day
5. The Dream Is Alive
6. Tell Me Why
7. Come Back to Me
8. Night Has Fallen
9. Love Is the Magic
10. Take It or Leave It
11. You're So Far Away
12. Willie (Instrumental)


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify