Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Circus Maximus - 1st Chapter

Reviewer :
Juha Harjula Format: Album
Year: 2005
Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: Progressive metal
Producer: Tommy Hansen
Artist discography


Circus Maximus is a new progressive hardrock act from Norway that has been around since 2000. So now in 2005 Frontiers will release their debut album that is filled with brilliant melodies and groove heavy riffs with lots of technical parts. They have produced the album together with well-known producer Tommy Hansen(Helloween, Pretty Maids) that has mixed the album. The sound is huge and bombastic. The singer Michael Eriksen has a powerful and strong voice that sometimes reminds of Tony Harnell, Geoff Tate and Joey Tempest. This is a album that will appel to fans of Queensryche, TNT, Dream Theater and Royal Hunt for sure.
There is only 9 songs on the album but two of the songs are epic majestic songs that runs over 10 minutes. The songs I?m talking about is Glory Of The Empire that is a 10-minute epical journey. Then their is the 19 minute magnum-song The 1st Chapter that has great twist and turns and you will enjoy every second of this song. I?m not a bigger fan of longer songs but this song has something extra with great parts and is filled with awesome melodies. These two songs will be loved by progressive metal fans.
The beautiful ballad Silence From Angels Above is the ballad of the album and has strong resemblance to Queensryche, nice ballad. Biosfear is a instrumental track that I think is a bit boring and could have been left out. There are instrumental parts on the other songs so it feels a bit unnecessary.
This is a album with a great mixture of classic hardrock anthems and progressive technical parts that these guys delivers with cheer class and sens of melodies.
I have to say that this is one of the better progressive hardrock albums that Frontiers has released so far.

Tracklisting 1. Sin
2. Alive
3. Glory of The Empire
4. Biosfear
5. Silence From Angels Above
6. Why Am I Here
7. The Prophecy
8. The 1st Chapter
9. Haunted Dreams


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify