Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


The Killers - Sam`s Town

Reviewer :
Kaj Roth Format: Album
Year: 2006
Label: Island Records
Genre: New Wave
Producer: Alan Moulder/Flood
Artist discography


The mega successful band The Killers don?t take any chances with the new album "Sam?s town", they know exactly what the fans want and what the radio wants put out on the airwaves.
The new single "When you were young" is just as good as their first hit "Somebody told me" from the 5 million selling debut "Hot fuss" (2004), don?t worry about not getting enough 80?s vibes from the new album coz The Killers truly deliver the same package with "Sam?s town".
Who can resist their mix of The Cure vs Sparks in songs like "My list" and the title track?

The chorus of "Why do I keep counting" has enough hooks to conquer every chart in the world, if the label won?t release this as a single - they will make a big mistake.
I also like their 70?s touch of glamrock in the short pieces "Enterlude" and "Exitlude", well I think the new album beats the debut but not much.
The Japanese version contains the bonus tracks "Where the white boys dance" and "All the pretty face", the first has a cool David Bowie vibe over it and the second one is one of the most rocking songs of the album so these are no fillers.

Tracklisting 1 Sam?s Town
2 Enterlude
3 When You Were Young
4 Bling (Confessions of a King)
5 For Reasons Unknown
6 Read My Mind
7 Uncle Johnny
8 Bones
9 My List
10 This River Is Wild
11 Why Do I Keep Counting
12 Exitlude
13 When the white boys dance (Japan Bonus)
14.All the pretty face (Japan Bonus)


Melodic Net Comments 

what more could you want. flowers fronts and truly delivers a masterful mix of jumpin 80?s beat and brass with lyrical genuis unheard of in todays other rock bands. a breath of fresh style.

This Album, and Hot Fuss, are truly one of the best albums made within the last 20 years!! The Killers will never make an album they are not proud of and that?s why they will always be successful in what they do. Brandon?s voice is beyond amazing, their melodies and lyrics are perfectt!! I wouldn?t change a thing! Buy this album, all the songs are soo much fun to listen to, you won?t be dissapointed ;)

I am so glad/relieved they actually followed up Hot Fuss with something that sounds equally cool.

Nice to finally see a newish band dare to break the mold and look to an earlier era of rock music for their inspiration and not being afraid of making a ?big? song. The lyrics, the music, the arrangement all beautiful. Amazing song.