Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Daft Punk - Random Access Memories

Johan Wippsson Format: Album
Release date: 2013-05-17
Label: Columbia
Genre: Electronic
Artist discography


The French electro duo Daft Punk is back with their fourth album. This time it's a little more interesting when inspired by the American west-coast pop and bands like Steely Dan and the Doobie Brothers. It feels almost unreal when you listen to tracks like "Fragments Of Time" and "Beyond" with the knowledge that it's 2013.
However, Random Access Memories is more disco than west-coast it's very sad that the band has used autotune on almost all tracks. Ok, I know it's their style, but personally think it is a disgusting manipulation of music that most shows that you cannot sing "for real".
Random Access Memories have become very hyped in the press and can partly understand it. They've experimented a lot and done it well, but just because it's so odd, does not mean it's good. However, as I said, it's a very interesting project and hopefully we can get a west-coast renaissance where young people can discover treasures like Robbie Dupree, Marc Jordan and Bobby Caldwell.

Tracklisting 1. Give Life Back to Music
2. The Game of Love
3. Giorgio by Moroder
4. Within
5. Instant Crush (feat. Julian Casablancas)
6. Lose Yourself to Dance (feat. Pharrell Williams)
7. Touch (feat. Paul Williams)
8. Get Lucky (feat. Pharrell Williams)
9. Beyond
10. Motherboard
11. Fragments of Time (feat. Todd Edwards)
12. Doin' It Right (feat. Panda Bear)
13. Contact


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify