Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Matt Nathanson - Last of the Great Pretenders

Johan Wippsson Format: Album
Release date: 2013-07-16
Label: Vanguard Records A Welk Music Group Company
Genre: Modern Singer Songwriter
Producer: Mike Viola
Artist discography


Last of the Great Pretenders is Matt Nathanson's eighth album, and the third on Vanguard Records. This time, he has worked with power-pop hero Mike Viola from CandyButchers, which is a very nice and somewhat unexpected collaboration.
Although I would categorize Matt as modern a singer / songwriter he has always had a certain pop vein in his music. This time it will be much clearer and would like to say that the Last of the Great Pretenders is more of a power-pop album, but in a storytelling format. Think it works very well and that the mix makes it very innovative and exciting. Tracks like "Earthquake Weather," "Mission Bells" and "Kill the Lights" shows this in a great way and overall is Last of the Great Pretenders another very stable from Matt Nathanson.

Tracklisting 1. Earthquake Weather
2. Mission Bells
3. Last Days of Summer In San Francisco
4. Kinks Shirt
5. Sky High Honey
6. Annie's Always Waiting (For the Next One to Leave)
7. Kill the Lights
8. Heart Starts
9. Birthday Girl
10. Sunday New York Times
11. Farewell, December


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify