Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


The Dangerous Summer - If You Could Only Keep Me Alive

Tom Spinelli Format: Ep
Year: 2007
Label: Hopeless Records
Genre: Emo
Producer: Paul Leavitt
Artist discography


The Dangerous Summer hit us with their 7 song debut EP "If You Could Only Keep Me Alive." This collection of songs delivers hard rock melodic rock with passionate lyrics and solid production. It offers a great mixture of the styles of The Classic Crime meets The Spill Canvas.

The lyrics of singer Aj Perdomo are rounded out by the hard rocking upbeat music of Tyler Minsberg, Cody Payne and Bryan Czap. Not the most original band on the market these days, But The Dangerous Summer do show off their ability to make a great EP debut that would make a pretty sweet full length album with the addition of a few more tunes.

My favorites on the album are "Home" and "The Permanent Rain." "Home" delivers the up beat rocking side of the group and the catchy chorus with a great hook. "The Permanent Me" displays a very U2 meets Angels and Airwaves influenced, delayed guitar tone thats kicks in to their big sound. This song features additional vocals by Matt Parsons. "Disconnect" starts out with the vocals and the music that builds up to an awesome kick in. The driving verses lead up very well to a dual vocal chorus. Its the driving music of this song that makes the listener wanting more. this would be the song on the full length to separate it from an EP to a full length.

The very cool The Used-like last track "Of Confidence" ends the EP very well. The music of this song reminds me of "Box Full Of Sharp Object" with the pounding Tom hits on the drums that drives the song to open up the chorus even more.

With additional vocals on 4 out of 7 tracks, it displays a cool dynamic of the band. Other additional vocals come from Alex Gaskarth of All Time Low on "Disconnect".

Overall a great debut from these modern rockers. With the addition of 3 more songs or so, this could be a debut full length from Hopeless Records. I Look forward to a full length album from these guys, even though this album is kinda of a full length with a shorter track list.

Tracklisting 1. I Would Stay
2. The Permanent Rain
3. Here We Are After Dark
4. Wake Up
5. Home
6. Disconnect
7. Of Confidence
8. The Permanent Rain (Acoustic)
9. Disconnect (Acoustic)


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify