Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Raspberry Park - Scratchin' the Surface

Juha Harjula Format: Album
Release date: 2014-04-18
Label: Power Prog
Genre: AOR
Artist discography


Raspberry Park is a new melodic sensation from Denmark. This is their debut album but all the guys have deep roots in the Danish rock scene. They have worked with some of Denmarks biggest acts. This is a album filled with layers of melodies, catchy hooklines, great arrangements and top-notch production. Singer Mikkel Bryde has a raspy and strong voice that suits this just perfect and reminds of Mikael Erlandsson (Last Autumn´s Dream, Love Under Cover) and Kelly Hansen (Foreigner, Hurricane) in places. The guitars from Jes Kirstein is brilliant and there´s lots of Dann Huff (Giant) and Mick Ralph (Bad Company) that can be heard in his playing. These guys delivers strong classic rock with lots of AOR influences mixed with some traces of pop as well in a fantastic mix. The album opens up with the first single On The Battlefield and this is a stunning AOR-rocker with a fantastic catchy chorus with great harmonies. Dangerous Zone is a classic rock at the highest level with nice crunchy riffs and a rocking chorus. Paradise is a nice mid-tempo rocker with a 80s Bad Company over it. Straight To The Bone has a hookladen chorus that hits you right away, great harmony vocals. The Beatles sounding I´m The Only One is the weakest song on the album. I´ll Stay is a fantastic AOR-rocker with a powerful catchy chorus and the riffs are brilliant. The Message is a superb mid-tempo rocker with wonderful melodies and the chorus is a cracker, another winner. The stunning pianoballad One Second ends the album with class, just listen to the wonderful harmony vocals. So melodic fans of Stage Dolls, Last Autumn´s Dream, Return, Sunrise Avenue and even fans of Bad Company and Foreigner should pay this band some attention. Scratchin´ The Surface is a fantastic debut album from these Danish rockers. I recommend this strongly.

Tracklisting 1. On the Battlefield
2. Dangerous Zones
3. Paradise
4. Can't Get Out
5. Straight to the Bone
6. I'm the Only One
7. Friends & Lovers
8. I'll Stay
9. The Message
10. Makes Me Wonder
11. Let Them Burn
12. One Second


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify