Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Alexisonfire - Old Crows/Young Cardinals

Troy Kramm Format: Advance album
Release date: 2009-06-23
Label: Vagrant Records/Dine Alone Records
Genre: Post Hardcore
Producer: Julius Butty
Artist discography


One of Canada’s most pummeling and successful hardcore acts is back at it. Alexisonfire have consistently created their powerful sound thanks to a perfect mix of harmonies and aggression. The ever busy Dallas Green handles the melodic aspects beautifully (as always) in between both George Pettit and Wade MacNeil whose raspy vocal chords fill this album with pure energy and excitement.

The album kicks off with the song “Old Crows”. This one will get you singing along and really gets the point across about the band growing up and becoming more mature on their fourth album. To the more casual listeners it might be a song you skip to get to tracks such as the band’s first single “Young Cardinals”, “Born And Raised”, “Midnight Regulations” and “Heading For The Sun”. These are tracks that have a more melodic mix due to Dallas Green as he has a fair share of the vocals on these ones. It may not please some fans, but due to the success of City and Colour the band is guaranteed to have it’s ‘sometimes’ listeners who are now following this band.

For the diehards, there are plenty of those ‘anthemic’ songs you love to get your blood pumping as you scream along with Alexisonfire. A perfect example is the song “Accept Crime”. This is likely a song that translates so much better during the bands live performance. No matter how you look at it, these guys have put out another solid release that can only truly be appreciated during a live performance. New and old listeners should be pleased with the release of “Old Crows/Young Cardinals”, but I guess we will see as soon as it is released. It’s staying in my collection!

Tracklisting 1. Old Crows
2. Young Cardinals
3. Sons Of Privilege
4. Born And Raised
5. No Rest
6. The Northern
7. Midnight Regulations
8. Emerald Street
9. Heading For The Sun
10. Accept Crime
11. Burial


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify