Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Various Artists - Elements Of Frictions

Ola Gränshagen Format: Advance album
Year: 2014
Genre: Rock
Producer: various
Artist discography


As you can see in the News section, LIONS PRIDE MUSIC is a newly started Danish label, aiming to bring back great voices from the Melodic Hard Rock and AOR genres. The first result is a 14 track compilation with quite a number of well-known names, but also a few new ones.

There's one guy lifting up almost half of this album: MATTI ALFONZETTI, the Swedish vocalist and songwriter known from JAGGED EDGE, ALFONZETTI, BAM BAM BOYS and SKINTRADE (among others). He has written6 of the songs, including "Don't leave me lonely" where he performes as a solo artist and "Little one" with the (temporary?) band AREA 51. The other4 songs he wrote are performed by EMMA VARG, LARRY BAUD ("Make you mine", co-written by Baud) of RED DAWN, ex-TRANSIT vocalist OLIVER FEHR and MATS LEVÉN (SWEDISH EROTICA, TREAT & more). All songs are typical melodic hard rock with good hooklines, for fans of rock touched semi-soft hard rock.

All songs can't be mentioned, but the opener "When you grow up" by ROB MARCELLO (DANGER DANGER) and FRANK VESTRY is a very good AOR tune, with awesome solo guitars from Marcello (quite DANN HUFF sounding!). "To the limit" with PETE LORAN of TRIXTER is another very good song; classy melodic hard rock.

On the downside then? Well, several songs and performances sound very stressed. Take Swedes SNAKES IN PARADISE for example. They're known for solid playing and singing, but here on "Without your love" the vocals are not always in tune. Same goes for LARRY BAUD; it's a really good song, but it sounds like Baud has not been singing in quite some time. "All about you" by STEPHAN KAMMERER (ex-FRONTLINE) is another example of false singing. There's no telling whether the reason is stressful studio recordings, or simply voices losing quality over time.

But all in all, this is a great initiative from the Danish label. We need more melodic labels to create some competition in the genres. I look forward to the forthcoming Lions Pride Music releases, at least if the work is thoroughly done.

Tracklisting 1. When you grow up (MARCELLO/VESTRY)*

2. Little one (AREA 51)

3. Lovd don't live here anymore (EMMA VARG)*

4. Don't leave me lonely (MATTI ALFONZETTI)*

5. Make you mine (LARRY BAUD)

6. Don't walk away (OLIVER FEHR)

7. Without your love (SNAKES IN PARADISE)

8. Onlhy my heart (MATS LEVÉN)

9. To the limit (PETE LORAN)*

10. Anotyher me (PAUL LAINE of DANGER DANGER)

11. Somebody up there (TOMMY LAVERDI of 21 GUNS)*

12. All about you (STEPHAN KAMMERER)

13. Let me down easy (RICH COX of SIC VIKKI)

14. Pieces of the action (MARK EVANS of HEAVENS EDGE)



Melodic Net Comments