Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Whitesnake - Live at Donington 1990

Kaj Roth Format: DVD
Release date: 2011-06-06
Label: Frontiers Records
Genre: Hard Rock,  Glam Rock,  Classic Rock
Artist discography


To many Whitesnake fans, the show at Donington in 1990 is considered one of their best and looking at the line up of David Coverdale - Vocals, Tommy Aldridge - Drums, Rudy Sarzo - Bass, Adrian Vandenberg - Guitar and Steve Vai - Guitar, you could say they were more of a supergroup than an ordinary band. But after the huge success of the 1987 album where most songs were written by Coverdale/Sykes, the band took a much heavier direction of sound and the blues almost seemed lost in the wall of heavy metal guitars. The follow up "Slip of the tongue" was a disappointment in sales and also in the quality of the songs, perhaps because Sykes wasn´t involved. The songs he wrote for Whitesnake´s follow up were saved to his Blue Murder album instead. This is a good show and Coverdale puts on a great vocal performance but I can´t stand the champion ship of posers where Sarzo, Vandenberg and Vai are competing who can do the best pose. If you ask me, I prefer the more bluesy Whitesnake with Galley, Moody, Marsden, Lord, Paice, Murrayand Powell. And is there really anyone that still enjoy 30 minutes of solos?

Tracklisting 1. Slip Of The Tongue (Live)
2. Slide It In (Live)
3. Judgement Day (Live)
4. Slow An Easy (Live)
5. Kitten’s Got Claws (Live)
6. Adagio For Strato (Live)
7. Flying Dutchman Boogie (Live)
8. Is This Love (Live)
9. Cheap An’ Nasty (Live)
10. Crying In The Rain (Live) [Feat. Tommy Aldridge Drum Solo]
1. Fool For Your Loving (Live)
2. For The Love Of God (Live)
3. The Audience Is Listening (Live)
4. Here I Go Again (Live)
5. Bad Boys (Live)
6. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City (Live)
7. Still Of The Night (Live)


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify