Melodic Net RSS Feed Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Myspace Follow us on Myspace

Forgot your password?


Black Stone Cherry - Between the Devil & The Deep Blue Sea

Reviewer :
Henrik Holmgren Format: Album
Release date: 2011-01-01 Year: 2011
Label: Roadrunner Records
Genre: Southern Rock,  Hard Rock
Producer: Howard Benson
Artist discography


This is one of my most anticipated releases so far 2011. Black Stone Cherry is back with a new album, once again on Roadrunner Records. I cannot even think about how many times I have listened to the previous album, Folklore and Superstition. When I heard the first single off the new album, White Trash Millionaire I was not too excited. Yes, it was a good song but there was something missing. Blame it on the Boom Boom followed and I thought that was a better song. After a quick listen to this album I know that fans of Folklore will like this as well. Some songs could have been on that album as well.

Songs that sticks with me from the start are Killing Floor, Like I Roll, All I’m Dreamin’ Of and Die for You.

Like I Roll is a song that almost sports some John Mellencamp vibes and I think that would be the perfect song for a road trip. Some of the lyrics are “I’ve got an open road and a restless soul, the Rolling Stones on the radio”. There are also some hints of Danko Jones on Blame it on the Boom Boom, that is quite strange. But the songs is very catchy nonetheless.

Overall, this album is quite good, not as good as the previous ones however. There are just too many decent tracks on here. The good songs are good and I am not really disappointed with this album, although it is just not as good as the previous ones. It is still a safe buy if you like what the band has put out in the past.

Tracklisting 1. White Trash Millionaire
2. Killing Floor
3. In My Blood
4. Such A Shame
5. Won't Let Go
6. Blame It On The Boom Boom
7. Like I Roll
8. Can't You See
9. Let Me See You Shake
10. Stay
11. Change
12. All I'm Dreamin' Of
13. Staring At the Mirror
14. Fade Away
15. Die For You


Melodic Net Comments 

listen on spotify